My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

View previous topic View next topic Go down

My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by duncandisorderly on Sat 15 Jun 2013, 15:45

First, I would like to say I stumbled onto this site about 2 years ago. Until then, I had 2 Sims sites for many years that were constant favourites. ModtheSims and MATY. ModtheSims is middle of the road and an excellent site. The download section is brilliant and they ask for donations that they deserve. 

MATY is an excellent site, but it's full of arrogance and a twisted sense of itself. Many at MATY have a pompous air of superiority and revel in insulting and degrading people when they post. Nevertheless, it makes for good reading and some idiot feels better about themselves because they posted. The very few times I have posted there, I have been forced to deal with some asshole with an ego who thinks they can threadjack for fun. I don't find this intimidating, merely annoying. The last time it happened I decided never to post there again. But, more importantly, I will never donate to the site again. I'm sure I am not alone and they must lose a lot of donations. The site is so eager to attack people who break their rules, many believe that this means they can attack anyone. I find that both childish and counter productive to the site's image. If they can't practice what they preach, they lose their integrity in my opinion. Ironic, they don't see this, considering how they bombastically flaunt their intellect. I still enjoy visiting the site a great deal and marvel at their verbal diarrhea. There is something hilariously compelling and surreal about it. It's a Sims site that thinks it's a particle physics site. Pseudo-intellectuals are like a train wreck to me. I can't help but observe it. I suggest reading the sticky thread about the GRAMMAR POLICE started by Rohina. The most bizarre and entertaining flame war erupts with page after page of pure venom. All because the site requests that you strive to make your posts legible. Any smart forum would have the good sense to lock a sticky on this topic, ESP if it goes viral. However, it's transparently clear the OP revels in her superiority. It's so odd at MATY. lol

Which leads me to this site. Since I discovered G4TW, it has become a favourite. I have 3 favourite Sims sites now. You guys are the other extreme, you are all extremely friendly, prompt and helpful. The admin clearly work hard here and care about the site. You guys know the value of being generally pleasant and polite. It reflects in every part of the site. I can't begin to thank you for all the downloads you have made available to the community. I respect your stance on Store Items. EA charge a scandalous amount for pixels that cost a minimal amount to produce. How hard and expensive can it be to produce objects for the game? There are countless fans who create their own objects and give them away for free! I call shenanigans on EAGames.

My only criticism of the site is the layout. Please don't flame me for being honest but the layout is very busy. There can be a huge array of font styles and sizes on one page. It's all a bit chaotic. I seriously hope I don't insult, my only wish is to be candid. All the big gifs and attachments take up a sizable part of the page sometimes. It's also repetative for me personally. I am sick of seeing Ali G dancing. Sorry. With all these bits added, there is no flow in a thread because many posts have their own font size and colour, little gif or pic dancing around. Sometimes it's hard to tell where the post starts and the personalised attachments end or start. lol  Also, I have a sight issue, so I can find it a little confusing.

Perhaps what I say now will somehow ease the flames of my last paragraph. Wink  I have searched the site and was surprised I couldn't find a way to donate. The way I see it, you guys deserve my support after all the site has graciously given to me. If you haven't considered this before, I urge you to now. This site exists because of the admin. However, it is a community site too. As a member of the community, I want to do my part. Donating would give me that ability.

I don't expect you to change, I will still love the site even if Ali G never stops dancing. You have my upmost repect because you have earned it, not because you demand it.

Peace.

_________________
Jack & Jill went up a hill. It's all downhill from there.
avatar
duncandisorderly
Beginner
Beginner

Windows version :
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : Sims 3, Minecraft, Spore, Guild Wars 2, WoW
Male Posts : 9
Points : 1948
Reputation : 34
Join date : 2012-08-14
Age : 31
Location : UK

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by Shamrock on Sat 15 Jun 2013, 15:57

I'm not sure this is the forum's spirit... Donating I mean.
We're all here because we volunteered. That's probably what also makes the difference with MATY, never been there myself but can imagine how the thirst for popularity can make people bad, just because of an "earning" method.
Personally I like the website because it's free! And everything that comes from it!

Now, about the appearance. You need to understand that Admin also has a private life and a private job. Meaning this is a side project, and he already has to take care of:
¤ The (possible) trouble makers on the forum
¤ The facebook page
¤ The downloads
¤ The mediafire account (or the replacement he's working on)
So it makes sense he would choose a free host for the forum, and thus the design isn't as good as it would be if he had payed people to do it.
I still think it is good as it is: it serves its purpose, no need for anything more! Wink
(Just saying this to answer you, I didn't take it bad or anything, please take it as a neutral tone conversation.)

Anyway, I'm glad you like it here! Keep having fun and posting like crazy about your problems!! (not that you personnaly have a lot, just saying! It's our job as Helpers to help Razz)

_________________
Have some tea, and take care!
Best regards,

Shamrock  





Please PM or e-mail me for any help or advice!
avatar
Shamrock
=D Child of Admin =D
=D Child of Admin =D

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : The Sims 3 (series), Warcraft III, Civilization V, Vampire Bloodlines, Football Manager 2012, Pokemon games
Male Posts : 3265
Points : 5944
Reputation : 381
Join date : 2012-03-06
Location : On the slim border between sane and insane

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by Sir Auron on Sat 15 Jun 2013, 16:00

You make a good point about the layout.

It is rather hard to read black text on a black background and orange text on an orange background.

P.s. I agree about MATY. That's why I dont support them XD



Last edited by Sir Auron on Sat 15 Jun 2013, 16:08; edited 1 time in total

_________________
Regardless of warnings, the future doesn't scare me at all!
~ Utada Hikaru - Simple and clean [Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep]
avatar
Sir Auron
Posting Nerd
Posting Nerd

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : Kingdom Hearts (series), Pokemon (series)
Posts : 54
Points : 1685
Reputation : 27
Join date : 2013-06-02

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by Shamrock on Sat 15 Jun 2013, 16:03

Sir Auron wrote:You make a good point about the layout.

It is rather hard to read black text on a black background and orange text on an orange background.


Well, there has to be a choice, right?
Dark background, then you can't write with dark colors.
Pale background, and you can't write with pale colors.
I mean this is just the way it is! In my opinion it's still better than an all white dull forum...

_________________
Have some tea, and take care!
Best regards,

Shamrock  





Please PM or e-mail me for any help or advice!
avatar
Shamrock
=D Child of Admin =D
=D Child of Admin =D

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : The Sims 3 (series), Warcraft III, Civilization V, Vampire Bloodlines, Football Manager 2012, Pokemon games
Male Posts : 3265
Points : 5944
Reputation : 381
Join date : 2012-03-06
Location : On the slim border between sane and insane

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by duncandisorderly on Sat 15 Jun 2013, 16:05

Shamrock wrote:I'm not sure this is the forum's spirit... Donating I mean.
We're all here because we volunteered. That's probably what also makes the difference with MATY, never been there myself but can imagine how the thirst for popularity can make people bad, just because of an "earning" method.
Personally I like the website because it's free! And everything that comes from it!

Now, about the appearance. You need to understand that Admin also has a private life and a private job. Meaning this is a side project, and he already has to take care of:
¤ The (possible) trouble makers on the forum
¤ The facebook page
¤ The downloads
¤ The mediafire account (or the replacement he's working on)
So it makes sense he would choose a free host for the forum, and thus the design isn't as good as it would be if he had payed people to do it.
I still think it is good as it is: it serves its purpose, no need for anything more! Wink
(Just saying this to answer you, I didn't take it bad or anything, please take it as a neutral tone conversation.)

Anyway, I'm glad you like it here! Keep having fun and posting like crazy about your problems!! (not that you personnaly have a lot, just saying! It's our job as Helpers to help Razz)


Thank you kindly. I pleased the spirit of my post came through as being candid and honest. There is nothing you said that I can find fault with. You gave the facts. Perhaps you may have misunderstood my stance about donating. I am not saying the site demands a fee. Only that it is available if one wishes to, not mandatory.

//EDIT


Thank you for all the replies. I was pleased to see some share my opinion on certain topics. For me to say my way is the right way is selfish and foolhardy. I'm glad I have taken the time out to share my thoughts. They were said with the best intentions.

Peace.


Last edited by duncandisorderly on Sat 15 Jun 2013, 16:26; edited 1 time in total

_________________
Jack & Jill went up a hill. It's all downhill from there.
avatar
duncandisorderly
Beginner
Beginner

Windows version :
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : Sims 3, Minecraft, Spore, Guild Wars 2, WoW
Male Posts : 9
Points : 1948
Reputation : 34
Join date : 2012-08-14
Age : 31
Location : UK

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by Shamrock on Sat 15 Jun 2013, 16:24

I think that's how they were received! with the best intentions! I love you
(for me actually)

//EDIT: Oh, I saw your post, don't worry. Felt better to answer here.
I understood at once what you were saying. I just had nothing more to add: I'm happy to do my job here on the forum. Sometimes people don't even say a thank you, and if we were after recognition, we'd be long gone Wink So we're all here because we want to!
And thank you for what you said: even if we're not after recognition, when people show it it's always heartwarming!

_________________
Have some tea, and take care!
Best regards,

Shamrock  





Please PM or e-mail me for any help or advice!
avatar
Shamrock
=D Child of Admin =D
=D Child of Admin =D

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : The Sims 3 (series), Warcraft III, Civilization V, Vampire Bloodlines, Football Manager 2012, Pokemon games
Male Posts : 3265
Points : 5944
Reputation : 381
Join date : 2012-03-06
Location : On the slim border between sane and insane

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by ☠ ~ Aɳɳ ~ ☠ on Sat 15 Jun 2013, 18:23

Hello,


It's always nice to know that someone likes what we do here, and the way we do what we do. 
Admin has had a donation button on the website in the past, but he decided to remove it because it didn't seem to be the right spirit. Helping people and making them feel good about having come here for help is all the thanks we need.


About the lay out, I can imagine it's busy. We don't have limitations on signatures, or font style and colour. I feel that limitations also wouldn't be in the spirit of this forum. Though I tend to change a person's font from time to time when it's too small or a "difficult" colour.
People use font and signature as a way to express themselves, make a statement.
The staff uses font size and colour to make their text or certain parts of their message stand out.
I think we all find it confusing at times, and I hope you'll find a way to get used to it Smile

_________________
"Under sun and sky, we greet you warmly"

avatar
☠ ~ Aɳɳ ~ ☠
Forum Administratrix
First Lady of the Forum
Forum Administratrix First Lady of the Forum

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows XP
  • Windows 10

System architecture :
  • 32 bits (x86)
  • 64 bits (x64)

Female Posts : 15112
Points : 20090
Reputation : 1437
Join date : 2011-05-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by duncandisorderly on Sat 15 Jun 2013, 21:55

Thank you for your reply Lady ElDi. My critical comparison to MATY was meant to point out how much you differ. I generally lurk on the forums I visit. When I post, it's with good reason. As a lurker, I hate what I call forum pollution. For example: the post that asks a question asked 100 times before that has been answered. As admin, I'm sure you can think of more examples.

The layout of the site is the least of my concerns. I'm sure I'll cope. lol Your decision about donations is admirable. It speaks volumes. KUDOS! By the way, I totally agree with your Piracy pic.

I appreciate your help.

Peace.

_________________
Jack & Jill went up a hill. It's all downhill from there.
avatar
duncandisorderly
Beginner
Beginner

Windows version :
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : Sims 3, Minecraft, Spore, Guild Wars 2, WoW
Male Posts : 9
Points : 1948
Reputation : 34
Join date : 2012-08-14
Age : 31
Location : UK

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by Adwomin on Sat 15 Jun 2013, 23:45

Hello Duncandisorderly,

Thank you for your extensive post and your trust in us, it's appreciated.
All replies pretty much say it all. It just doesn't feel appropriate to accept donations for what we do here.

We did have plans on changing the Forum layout a while ago, but I don't know... I can be very conservative at times.
Since Lady ElDi is an Administrator too now, I'll leave it up to her, I guess. Razz

But remember that you're always welcome on the Games4theworld Forum and we'll try to help you with anything we can help you with!

_________________
Bonsoir, friend.


~ Nobody's gril. ~
avatar
Adwomin
free society
free society

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 32 bits (x86)
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : GTA Series, Cities: Skylines, Prison Architect, Borderlands series
Female Posts : 19211
Points : 1026424
Reputation : 2253
Join date : 2010-03-12
Age : 16
Location : Del Perro Heights

View user profile https://www.games4theworld.org

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by duncandisorderly on Sun 16 Jun 2013, 01:10

Thanks Admin. You know something? Now that I vented about Ali G, he's not as annoying. Wink 

Peace.

_________________
Jack & Jill went up a hill. It's all downhill from there.
avatar
duncandisorderly
Beginner
Beginner

Windows version :
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : Sims 3, Minecraft, Spore, Guild Wars 2, WoW
Male Posts : 9
Points : 1948
Reputation : 34
Join date : 2012-08-14
Age : 31
Location : UK

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by Phoebe on Sun 16 Jun 2013, 10:54

It's my personal opinion that we all get paid well enough when someone like you really appareciates the hard work here for maintaning this site. I don't think anyone will ever need of other kind of payment Smile

_________________
avatar
Phoebe
Super Spammer
Super Spammer

Windows version :
  • .

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : The Sims series, Elder Scrolls Skyrim, The Walking Dead, Sacred I-II, Fables,Vampire Masquerade Bloodlines, Civilization, Don't Starve, Popmundo
Female Posts : 783
Points : 2772
Reputation : 119
Join date : 2012-09-17
Age : 28
Location : Neverland

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by duncandisorderly on Sun 16 Jun 2013, 11:59

Thanks Phoebe. In the end, I have been able to donate by showing my appreciation. That's all that matters.

_________________
Jack & Jill went up a hill. It's all downhill from there.
avatar
duncandisorderly
Beginner
Beginner

Windows version :
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : Sims 3, Minecraft, Spore, Guild Wars 2, WoW
Male Posts : 9
Points : 1948
Reputation : 34
Join date : 2012-08-14
Age : 31
Location : UK

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by rajaerry on Sun 23 Jun 2013, 09:49

I started hanging out here when admin kept his promise to fix my problem in sims 3 via teamviewer. :DI wish best of luck to his great forum! It's hard to find a forum that actually helps e-pirates. pirat But unfortunately forumotion (the free forum service that g4tw is currently running on) is notorious for not giving sql databases, even for any fee you offer them.

rajaerry
Posting Nerd
Posting Nerd

Windows version :
  • Windows 8

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : The Sims 3, GTA San Andreas, GTA IV, Minecraft
Male Posts : 43
Points : 2085
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2012-04-10
Location : Malaysia

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by duncandisorderly on Sun 23 Jun 2013, 23:52

rajaerry wrote:I started hanging out here when admin kept his promise to fix my problem in sims 3 via teamviewer. :DI wish best of luck to his great forum! It's hard to find a forum that actually helps e-pirates. :pirat:But unfortunately forumotion (the free forum service that g4tw is currently running on) is notorious for not giving sql databases, even for any fee you offer them.

In this day and age, on the net, the majority want your ca$h. This site is a reminder that everybody isn't in it for the money.

_________________
Jack & Jill went up a hill. It's all downhill from there.
avatar
duncandisorderly
Beginner
Beginner

Windows version :
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : Sims 3, Minecraft, Spore, Guild Wars 2, WoW
Male Posts : 9
Points : 1948
Reputation : 34
Join date : 2012-08-14
Age : 31
Location : UK

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by rajaerry on Wed 26 Jun 2013, 18:26

duncandisorderly wrote:
rajaerry wrote:I started hanging out here when admin kept his promise to fix my problem in sims 3 via teamviewer. :DI wish best of luck to his great forum! It's hard to find a forum that actually helps e-pirates. :pirat:But unfortunately forumotion (the free forum service that g4tw is currently running on) is notorious for not giving sql databases, even for any fee you offer them.

In this day and age, on the net, the majority want your ca$h. This site is a reminder that everybody isn't in it for the money.
But money is still needed to make a living Smile

rajaerry
Posting Nerd
Posting Nerd

Windows version :
  • Windows 8

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : The Sims 3, GTA San Andreas, GTA IV, Minecraft
Male Posts : 43
Points : 2085
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2012-04-10
Location : Malaysia

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by ☠ ~ Aɳɳ ~ ☠ on Wed 26 Jun 2013, 20:17

rajaerry wrote:
duncandisorderly wrote:
rajaerry wrote:I started hanging out here when admin kept his promise to fix my problem in sims 3 via teamviewer. :DI wish best of luck to his great forum! It's hard to find a forum that actually helps e-pirates. :pirat:But unfortunately forumotion (the free forum service that g4tw is currently running on) is notorious for not giving sql databases, even for any fee you offer them.

In this day and age, on the net, the majority want your ca$h. This site is a reminder that everybody isn't in it for the money.
But money is still needed to make a living Smile

That's why this is a hobby. I'm not employed in the regular sense myself, being a stay at home mom, but most of us have regular day jobs.

_________________
"Under sun and sky, we greet you warmly"

avatar
☠ ~ Aɳɳ ~ ☠
Forum Administratrix
First Lady of the Forum
Forum Administratrix First Lady of the Forum

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows XP
  • Windows 10

System architecture :
  • 32 bits (x86)
  • 64 bits (x64)

Female Posts : 15112
Points : 20090
Reputation : 1437
Join date : 2011-05-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by rajaerry on Thu 27 Jun 2013, 11:20

I'm still schooling (16 years old), but when I have spare time I do internet marketing. Made over a thousand dollars last year after monetizing every site I own. Non-profit sites like g4tw are rare nowadays. Surprised

rajaerry
Posting Nerd
Posting Nerd

Windows version :
  • Windows 8

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : The Sims 3, GTA San Andreas, GTA IV, Minecraft
Male Posts : 43
Points : 2085
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2012-04-10
Location : Malaysia

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by Adwomin on Thu 27 Jun 2013, 20:31

rajaerry wrote:I'm still schooling (16 years old), but when I have spare time I do internet marketing. Made over a thousand dollars last year after monetizing every site I own. Non-profit sites like g4tw are rare nowadays. Surprised
Hi there,

I think that if one has the possibility to share with others - no matter what: happiness, money, food, etc. - one should.

_________________
Bonsoir, friend.


~ Nobody's gril. ~
avatar
Adwomin
free society
free society

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 32 bits (x86)
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : GTA Series, Cities: Skylines, Prison Architect, Borderlands series
Female Posts : 19211
Points : 1026424
Reputation : 2253
Join date : 2010-03-12
Age : 16
Location : Del Perro Heights

View user profile https://www.games4theworld.org

Back to top Go down

Re: My honest opinions about G4TW. [CLOSED]

Post by rajaerry on Fri 28 Jun 2013, 02:57

What he said.


Moderator edit: I think everything has been said. Topic closed.

- Carlos

rajaerry
Posting Nerd
Posting Nerd

Windows version :
  • Windows 8

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : The Sims 3, GTA San Andreas, GTA IV, Minecraft
Male Posts : 43
Points : 2085
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2012-04-10
Location : Malaysia

View user profile

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum