Not really a complaint

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Not really a complaint

Post by ☠ ~ Aɳɳ ~ ☠ on Wed 22 Jun 2011, 19:22

But for lack of a better category to post this question. This part of the forum seems most suited.
Just something I've been wondering about, and its not really that much of a problem, but a bit annoying if I want to know about the scrolling text you're displaying at the top of the board. Its currently completely obscured by an ad of some kind that's encouraging me to "upgrade to pro today!"

I've been getting this for about a week or 2 I suppose and I'm really more curious about why this suddenly appeared than anything else.


_________________
"Under sun and sky, we greet you warmly"

avatar
☠ ~ Aɳɳ ~ ☠
Forum Administratrix
First Lady of the Forum
Forum Administratrix First Lady of the Forum

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows XP
  • Windows 10

System architecture :
  • 32 bits (x86)
  • 64 bits (x64)

Female Posts : 15112
Points : 20087
Reputation : 1437
Join date : 2011-05-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Not really a complaint

Post by krishnanunnimr on Wed 22 Jun 2011, 19:53

Lady ElDi wrote:But for lack of a better category to post this question. This part of the forum seems most suited.
Just something I've been wondering about, and its not really that much of a problem, but a bit annoying if I want to know about the scrolling text you're displaying at the top of the board. Its currently completely obscured by an ad of some kind that's encouraging me to "upgrade to pro today!"

I've been getting this for about a week or 2 I suppose and I'm really more curious about why this suddenly appeared than anything else.


It is because that scrolling bar's background image have hosted in photobucket. Hence our photobuct bandwith limit is reached further the image will not shown up. For that they say you need to upgrade to pro on photobucket!

I recommend image should be hosted on imageplay.net which the images never will be deleted as per my experience Very Happy
avatar
krishnanunnimr
Posting Nerd
Posting Nerd

Windows version :
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : Call of Duty Series, Crysis Series, The Sims 3 Series, Operation Flashpoint : Red River, L.A Noire
Male Posts : 27
Points : 2363
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2011-06-18
Age : 26
Location : God's Own Country

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Not really a complaint

Post by ☠ ~ Aɳɳ ~ ☠ on Wed 22 Jun 2011, 20:02

LOL well I never would've guessed that. I'm on tinypic myself.

_________________
"Under sun and sky, we greet you warmly"

avatar
☠ ~ Aɳɳ ~ ☠
Forum Administratrix
First Lady of the Forum
Forum Administratrix First Lady of the Forum

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows XP
  • Windows 10

System architecture :
  • 32 bits (x86)
  • 64 bits (x64)

Female Posts : 15112
Points : 20087
Reputation : 1437
Join date : 2011-05-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Not really a complaint

Post by krishnanunnimr on Wed 22 Jun 2011, 20:20

Lady ElDi wrote:LOL well I never would've guessed that. I'm on tinypic myself.

OMG you like tinypic! I never saw my uploaded pictures next day on tinypic LOL!! Very Happy
avatar
krishnanunnimr
Posting Nerd
Posting Nerd

Windows version :
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : Call of Duty Series, Crysis Series, The Sims 3 Series, Operation Flashpoint : Red River, L.A Noire
Male Posts : 27
Points : 2363
Reputation : 11
Join date : 2011-06-18
Age : 26
Location : God's Own Country

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Not really a complaint

Post by Adwomin on Wed 22 Jun 2011, 21:21

Hello,

Yes yes, I know about this problem and indeed, it's very annoying.
The problem is that the background of that scrolling thing is in the pre-made layout of the Forum itself.
I already contacted the Forum's host, but they say that the only option is to choose a new layout...
If I could change it, of course, I'd already have done that.

_________________
Bonsoir, friend.


~ Nobody's gril. ~
avatar
Adwomin
free society
free society

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 32 bits (x86)
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : GTA Series, Cities: Skylines, Prison Architect, Borderlands series
Female Posts : 19211
Points : 1026421
Reputation : 2253
Join date : 2010-03-12
Age : 16
Location : Del Perro Heights

View user profile https://www.games4theworld.org

Back to top Go down

Re: Not really a complaint

Post by ☠ ~ Aɳɳ ~ ☠ on Thu 23 Jun 2011, 10:08

We'll just bear with it then. I was simply wondering if it was something that was only showing up on my end. I know that with some forum hosts (aimoo for example) you can become an upgraded member and use the forum without advertisements, but I haven't seen any ads here, so wondered, what is it about?
@krishnanunnimr, I've used tinypic for over 3 years, never had any problems and its so easy to use.

_________________
"Under sun and sky, we greet you warmly"

avatar
☠ ~ Aɳɳ ~ ☠
Forum Administratrix
First Lady of the Forum
Forum Administratrix First Lady of the Forum

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows XP
  • Windows 10

System architecture :
  • 32 bits (x86)
  • 64 bits (x64)

Female Posts : 15112
Points : 20087
Reputation : 1437
Join date : 2011-05-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Not really a complaint

Post by Favorlock on Thu 23 Jun 2011, 11:19

it likely has to do with the adfly code. If you've noticed when you click external links adfly pops up, therefore it does have ads.
avatar
Favorlock
Extreme Poster
Extreme Poster

Windows version :
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : Minecraft
Male Posts : 354
Points : 2781
Reputation : 43
Join date : 2011-06-02
Age : 24
Location : Washington, U.S.A

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Not really a complaint

Post by Adwomin on Thu 23 Jun 2011, 19:26

Favorlock wrote:it likely has to do with the adfly code. If you've noticed when you click external links adfly pops up, therefore it does have ads.
Hello,

That's only with external download -links, not normal links. (Websites like MegaUpload, Hotfile, Rapidshare etc)
The Forum does have ads, but I turned them off for members. Only visible to guests. And no, I do not make any profit of it. It goes all to the Forum's hoster. (This is a free Forum after all)

_________________
Bonsoir, friend.


~ Nobody's gril. ~
avatar
Adwomin
free society
free society

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 32 bits (x86)
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : GTA Series, Cities: Skylines, Prison Architect, Borderlands series
Female Posts : 19211
Points : 1026421
Reputation : 2253
Join date : 2010-03-12
Age : 16
Location : Del Perro Heights

View user profile https://www.games4theworld.org

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum