I may be in trouble. [SOLVED]

View previous topic View next topic Go down

I may be in trouble. [SOLVED]

Post by amashu on Sat 07 Sep 2013, 08:47

Background: I downloaded my first EP from here with Island Paradise when it was first available. have been using installation guides and whatnot to figure out how to do this. up until now everything had been store bought. 

so here's the deal: when I downloaded the the ultimate fix when it got updated for the new patch. apparently the file was not complete and got corrupted. Now I'm not very tech savvy with some things and thought that some files showed up in the folder I chose to extract to, that those files were there and that the rest (the guide for example) simply did not make it for whatever reason.  so I used the video to replace the files for the expansion packs I have installed right now and tried to start the launcher to update. instead got a message saying start up could not complete. 

once I realized what exactly happened, I redownloaded the file (this probably took an hour). I slept while this happened. I extracted the entire file without a problem. thinking that since I had copied the files and couldn't open the launcher, maybe copying these would fix it, to no avail. I have not copied island paradise files yet, or applied the crack, since the guide said to do that after. 

so, since I used these files to replace ones in store bought games, do I need to re-install the games, or is there an easier way to do this? I would hate to have to do that, but will understand if it's the only way to play. I haven't played since the patch came out and am very addicted, so I'm getting antsy. I really wish I had known more going in, but I didn't know or think anything differently about the mix of legit and downloaded games.