The Sims 4: A review.

View previous topic View next topic Go down

The Sims 4: A review.

Post by ☠ ~ Aɳɳ ~ ☠ on Tue 10 Jan 2017, 13:47

So, I have played the game for a bit, and I have reviewed it. It's not very positive, I'm afraid, but if you're interested, you can read it here.




Spoiler:
Feel free to join that network, the process is simple and registration is free. If you start using it, you can earn a little bit in the process Smile 
Note that the site is originally in Dutch, but the interface can be changed to English.

_________________
"Under sun and sky, we greet you warmly"
avatar
☠ ~ Aɳɳ ~ ☠
Forum Administratrix
First Lady of the Forum
Forum Administratrix First Lady of the Forum

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows XP
  • Windows 10

System architecture :
  • 32 bits (x86)
  • 64 bits (x64)

Female Posts : 15118
Points : 20174
Reputation : 1460
Join date : 2011-05-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: The Sims 4: A review.

Post by Tarac on Tue 10 Jan 2017, 14:56

Have read your blog.
When you have little time to play the game, why not use cheats ?
You can then concentrate on the elements of the game you really like.
Nevertheless, in my view after "The Sims (1)" the game degraded in Sims 2,3 and 4 to an electronic dollhouse
avatar
Tarac
=D Child of Admin =D
=D Child of Admin =D

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 7
  • Windows Vista
  • Windows XP
  • Windows 98
  • Windows 95
  • Windows 10

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : Card games
Male Posts : 2267
Points : 4264
Reputation : 363
Join date : 2013-09-14
Age : 74
Location : The Netherlands

View user profile http://www.tarac.nl

Back to top Go down

Re: The Sims 4: A review.

Post by ☠ ~ Aɳɳ ~ ☠ on Tue 10 Jan 2017, 16:18

Oh sometimes I do use cheats, not the "motherlode" type, but I use a bunch of mods in TS3, some of which can be considered cheats. I use some of MasterController's functions to make relationships happen, or I sometimes use some of the "testingcheats".


What I enjoy most about the game (TS3) is playing a family, and keeping an eye on what other households are up to from time to time. Seeing sims my household sims grew up with continue with their lives, or the household(s) I have played, but since moved on to a different type of sim.


The "Open world" in TS3 is still my favourite thing, TS4 could never replace that.
(Unless they would upgrade to an "open world" Wink )

_________________
"Under sun and sky, we greet you warmly"
avatar
☠ ~ Aɳɳ ~ ☠
Forum Administratrix
First Lady of the Forum
Forum Administratrix First Lady of the Forum

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows XP
  • Windows 10

System architecture :
  • 32 bits (x86)
  • 64 bits (x64)

Female Posts : 15118
Points : 20174
Reputation : 1460
Join date : 2011-05-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: The Sims 4: A review.

Post by Sαɳʂα on Thu 12 Jan 2017, 21:16

I read your review and I find myself agreeing with most of what you had to say. You worded it in an objective but professional manner, something you would want to see for a game review. Thank you for sharing this and personally, I prefer Sims 3 myself.

_________________
avatar
Sαɳʂα
Quartermaster Rookie
Gallery Super-Seeker
Quartermaster Rookie Gallery Super-Seeker

Windows version :
  • Windows 8

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : Sims 3, Sims 4, Mass Effect Trilogy, Dragon Age series, Neverwinter online, Elder Scrolls Online
Female Posts : 216
Points : 754
Reputation : 66
Join date : 2016-10-18
Age : 34
Location : United States

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: The Sims 4: A review.

Post by candesco on Sat 21 Jan 2017, 21:08

Read the review as well and have to agree with it. Story progression is almost none to existant, CAS isn't very interesting and grahicwise it's a step back. Cell-shaded doesn't fit with the sims. When the game is loaded and you select a neighbourhood it's like TS4 is made with Ren'Py (used with visual novels). In previous games you really saw the neighbourhood and it's homes, in 3D. But here it's all static. Even when you continue with your sim and you fire up it's home it still ain't great. Ok, that you see cars riding and you see boats moving at the background adds something. But overall the neighbourhood is uninteresting. Pleasantview in TS2 is more interesting. I've picked Oasis Springs as well, also because the Calientes are there. Currently i use San Myshuno. But it ain't like the apartment life expansion for TS2 or Bridgeport in TS3.
My biggest problem with TS4 is that it lacks many things. It feels like a stripped down sims game. Even TS2 has more to offer. I really miss those little things like pillow fighting, throwing a ball and such. And fighting sims, which is one of the nice features of ts2. Maybe the sims in ts2 are quite agressive, but those fightings are quite amusing. And yeah, the open world in TS3 is one of the great features of that game.

candesco
Posting Nerd
Posting Nerd

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows XP

System architecture :
  • 32 bits (x86)
  • 64 bits (x64)

Favourite games : The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind, Age of Empires II, Divinity II, Divinity Original Sin, The Witcher, Neverwinter Nights 2, Sacred 2, The Sims 2, The Sims 3, Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas, Saints Row 2, Dragon Age: Origins, Vampire the Masquerade: Bloodlines, Black Desert Online
Male Posts : 62
Points : 488
Reputation : 10
Join date : 2016-10-29
Location : The Netherlands

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: The Sims 4: A review.

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum