A few issues all ending in crashing...

View previous topic View next topic Go down

A few issues all ending in crashing...

Post by renonex on Wed 12 Dec 2012, 13:16

So I recently had trouble with my game after installing Supernatural and Seasons, I renamed The Sims 3 folder in Documents folder and it created a new set and the game worked.

Then I went back and added the NoIntro mod, solely to speed up the initial loading process and also a few bits of CC, namely a Mac laptop, a motorbike parking space, some cars and a couple of windows. Game still loads fine.

The only problem now is the same issues I've had Pre-SuperSeasons. Which is in CAS sometimes it'll load up just a black silhouette and eyes and then crash or a black and green triangle person and still also crash. This was crazily annoying before as I was a stylist and obviously CAS loaded up a lot and so this bug happened a lot.

I've also got one where around the hour mark, it'll sometimes crash unexpectedly. Like, without warning. He'll be eating cereal and it may crash. He'll be in a park and it may crash, etc. It's getting really annoying as I don't want to have to be constantly saving every time I click to do something.

I highly doubt that it's CC related, there's got to be another reason for it. Also to save time... I used the Ultimate Fix, followed the instructions 100%, the crack's been applied and this time round I was able to update the game from the launcher, NOT the manual patch.

renonex
Beginner
Beginner

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: A few issues all ending in crashing...

Post by antiskub on Wed 12 Dec 2012, 17:55

Updating from the launcher isn't entirely advisable; half the time us Mac people get an unknown error doing so. But, hey if it worked for you that's good.

CAS errors are notorious for Mac people. The emulator (cider) that EA uses to make our game playable on Mac is highly unstable in this area. You can install a helpful compatibility tool called XQuartz here: